Gaps between texture when using "create unique texture"

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to sketchup and enjoying it so far. I am having an issue that I have been unable to solve as of yet and wanted to know if any of you more experienced users knew how to fix this problem.

When using the create unique texture function, I see small gaps between the newly created textures, which also appears in the game engine once the model has been compiled.

What I wanted to know, is if there is a way to stop these small gaps appearing when slicing textures in sketchup?

Here is an image to show what is happening. I am drawing a grid over a rectangle that contains the texture bitmap, then hiding the lines by soft deleting them, they still appear when hidden geometry is turned on.

Kind Regards,
Tylor

The eraser tool doesn’t delete lines when using the soften modifier key. It just turns lines into hidden geometry.

I’m not sure what you mean by gap. Are you talking about a break in continuity of the texture when viewed from certain angles? For example, something like this:
Texture Hidden%20line

If you don’t use the make unique texture function to slice up the texture, then it shouldn’t have the gap.
No%20gap

Hi Forestr,

Thanks for your reply!

The hidden geometry was intended, what I am trying to achieve is to slice the background image into smaller sections, it is currently around 20,000 x 10,000px and will not work in the game in its current format. I was using the make unique texture function to cut the main image into smaller sections of around 2048 x 2048px to make it compatible with the game.

It’s not easy to see in the image, but there is a seam between the hidden geometry tiles, which shows a very slight gap between them and in turn shows gaps between the textures in the game like the image below.

1 Like

Also if it helps, this is the guide I was following to help clarify a bit further.