[Eneroth Railroad System] Rendering with Animation

crash
lightup
animation
render

One thing I’ve tried many times with SketchUp was rendering with LightUp while using the Animation Plugin “Eneroth Railroad System”. After seconds of running this, SketchUp would crash immediately. Is there custom ruby code to prevent such crashes if I want to render with animation?

Have you reached out to @eneroth3 directly? As the author, she may be able to help you out!

I have no experience with using LightUp myself. Is it recording a video or rendering still images?

When creating the plugin I had in mind custom code could be written in the Animation dialog to save an image for each frame and then manually create a video in a third party software. I creates a few short videos myself by using SketchUp’s own 2d export this way. If the renderer renders a video directly I suspect its timer and the plugin’s timer could interfear.

If a renderer has some sort of API so you can tell it when it should render each new frame, instead of relying on an internal timer, that could be used but I don’t know if any renderer does that. When I created this plugin I had a computer that hardly was powerful enough for a screen recording and I never even thought about rendering videos.

Btw, when you say crash, do you mean a bugsplat or that it freezes or something else?

When it crashes, it crashes with BugSplat Crash Reporter. The renderer uses interactive images, but does not create a movie, unless you have a screen recorder. When I have your “Play Animation” tool activated, along with the Render tool for LightUp (If you would like to look into LightUp, be my guest. A demo is free, by the way…), it will crash after two seconds. Since you have published many extensions, it may be accurate to call you a Developer, isn’t it? If you look at the code for LightUp, is it possible to derive a conclusion about why your animation plugin isn’t compatible with LightUp? Let me know if you’ve found out.