Dynamic Components - Model units changing and not working

Hi there, first post on here so be nice :slight_smile:

I have just started to learn dynamic components but running into massive issues. I am following Welcome to Dynamic Components - Skill Builder on YouTube step by step. I have had issues on each video with elements not working, units changing for no reason. Could anyone shed light on if there are known bugs around using dynamic components in metric, i donā€™t use inches, so really want to be able to model and adjust in cm or mm. I am new to coding, but by following step by step on the video i havenā€™t done anything different, apart from not being in inches. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Check the upper left of the nested Objects in the Component Attribute Panel. All should be set to CM (centimeter)
When you click on an attributeā€™s blue detail icon, set the the units to Centimeter, as well.
Bear in mind that formerly text is converted to an integer, so it might be an unexpected value.

ā€˜Current lengthā€™ formula is not converted right, you need to divide by 2.54. (Inch in cm)

1 Like

The implementation of metric in DCs in patchy, incomplete, and sometimes just buggy.

Make sure you are using the latest version of the Dynamic Components plugin, too.

Try to think in inches internally and use them in in calculations in the DC, and use CM only in user input and output fields. If you limit your use of metric units to the interface, and have your Model Info Units set to metric, most things will work.

That helped me, but isnā€™t always a complete solution either.

There are a few more tips in this old thread:

Note particularly the last post by Anssi:
AnssiSketchUp Sage

Jun '17

The DC code has a known bug (it has been there since they were introduced) where the metric units are recognized only when the ā€œdisplay units formatā€ checkbox is enabled in the Window menu>Model info>Units dialog. Otherwise everything reverts to inches.