Dynamic component - Cabinet toe kick notch

Hi guys,

I’m fairly new to dynamic components but I’ve made a simple cabinet where the side panels go down to the floor and the plinth is cut inbetween. No problems here.

I’d like to make another one where the side panels are notched to allow the toe kick to be the full width of the cabinet, as shown in the attached picture. Problem is if I change the ‘Plinth setback’ the plinth part will move but the cutout will stay where it is currently drawn. Is there any way to link them?

You want to change the depth of the notch in the side panel? You would need to separate the side panel into a component for the plinth and one for the rest of the side. Then you can change LenY for the lower part without affecting LenY for the rest of the panel. You could also change LenZ for both parts to adjust the height of the toe kick if you wanted.

You would end up with something like this.

Note that hiding the edges and faces where the two components meet will make them appear as one piece.

Thanks Dave,

Long term idea is to be able to layout the parts and export them for CNC so I wonder if having two parts will cause any issues with that but I’ll give it a try.

I wondered about how you would use the model. Export for CNC might be a problem if the component is two pieces. The hidden edges might also present a problem although hiding them would only be cosmetic for display in the model. I’m not a fan of this sort of thing because in a cutlist the two pieces would be reported instead of the one piece side.

Right on both fronts. I’ve been playing with a extension called abf solutions which can nest and export parts from sketchup but it does see the side panels as two parts and cutlists them separately too.

Interestingly Cabinetsense have a video on youtube where it seems to make this kind of cabinet side but I assume there exports can somehow group them together.

Your method definitely works well if it is for a visual model though.