Drone deploy to Sketchup 3D Model

Hey team, :smiley:

Point Blank, I’m completely brand new, just trying to avoid drowning right now. If you could have mercy on a novice, it’d be much appreciated.

(I’m a videographer / editor with limited experience using Cinema 4D for motion graphic work)

Current objective is to be able to take a 3d model made from Drone photos (obj.) and get it into Sketchup. There-in, I’d be looking to take that 3d model (terrain and existent structures as intact as possible) and build onto it in sketchup. I have a client that is a city planner and he’s hoping I could create 3d Flythrough renders of an area, before and after development, in pitches to clients and for use in potential grant meetings.

My existent concept as it stands. Please tell me where I’m going wrong:

1. Use drone photos to build a 3d model in Drone Deploy
  2. Export 3d Model as an OBJ file.
  3. Sketchup will not allow me to import OBJ, so I’'ve been told that converting to STL for import to Sketchup would be wise.
  4. Blender seems to be a good option for converting OBJ to STL
  5. From there I would like to use that file as a base (terrain and structures) that I can then build onto in sketchup

Current questions:

1. Can anyone help me understand the pitfalls I’m likely to run into in this endeavor?
  2. Is there a better workflow or different file format that you would use for getting the OBJ into Sketchup?
  3. Would it make more sense to export a geotiff or some kind of point cloud from Drone Deploy, and use that for terrain?
  4. Please let me know if this is a doomed mission. As stated, I’m in over my head here. If this whole concept of drone > 3d model > sketchup build is doomed by some technology gap along the way I’d love to have someone kill it for me here, rather than me have to spend weeks learning that it doesn’t work.

Thanks team,
Kasey :smiley:

The first thing you’ll need to do is switch from the free web-based version to Sketchup Pro.