Drawing very small objects

Hi,
I am a beginner - please assume I know very little.

I wanted to try to draw an LED (light emitting diode) as a practice exercise.

I was hoping to use the ‘follow me’ route.

I started to draw the profile of the head of the object but when I went to add a curve for the head of the LED, I got a message saying the number of segments in the semicircle is too large. I have changed that number to be very small - e.g.4, 1 even point numbers.

Perhaps I am asking too much or perhaps I should use a different tool - I am a beginner.

Have you any ideas?

Thanks
Ciaran

SketchUp works best at a bigger scale than that. You can still draw your LED, but draw it much bigger. Try drawing in m instead of mm. The more segments in your arcs, the smaller each edge is. At 1000x scale, you should be able to use the number of segments you want. Vertices closer than about 1/1000 inch get merged together in SketchUp.

When you’re finished, you can scale it down 1000 times and the tiny faces will still exist.

As McGordon suggests, modeling at 1000x normal size is a good way to go for something like that. The easiest way to do it is set units to meters and model as if millimeters were meters. If you were modeling the LED outlined below, you would draw it so the envelope is 8.6 meters tall.

And if you are only doing this for practice, you can skip scaling down when you get the model completed.

Hi,
Thank you for the reply, I will give this a go.

Can I ask a slightly different question, is there a way to make the screen go back to the ‘home position’ after having scrolled away to do something else?

Thanks again.

Ciaran

Hi, Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I see what you mean. I will give it a go but I think scaling may be a useful thing to learn too, so I’ll probably try that too.

Thanks again.

Ciaran