Detail library and details drawing/s

Hello folks,

I’ve used SU 2017 Pro a lot and am quite comfortable with all the functions, however, I’m a relative novice with Layout.

I am about to create more standard detail models for future use, but I would like to know the best workflow options to create this library.

Currently I have a dwg CAD file loaded with my most used details which I use in work, for use in 2D AutoCAD. While this has been successful, I feel the presentation SU/Layout offers me would be MUCH better to use. Not to mention the speed factor.

I’d like to keep them as separate details, saved on our server in a folder system that I can maintain and update as required.

So, once I’ve done my detail model, exported to Layout, annotated etc and is essentially complete, how do I then get that particular detail into a different project/Layout file?

I’m assuming that I can do this, or at least something similar…

Im utterly tired of exporting screenshots plus I know for a fact that I could have a hugely improved final product.

This is pretty much all that’s stopping me from dropping AutoCAD altogether, except maybe some fine tuning here and there in 2D before exporting. This in turn means I can save money by dumping AutoCAD subs. and use the NanoCAD I keep for emergencies (like ACAD licensing not working etc) instead. Potential big money saver.

I searched the forum but I didn’t see anything which outlines the process.

Thank you in advance.

Dennis

Save your imported details individually into a scrapbook. When you need that detail, insert it to the any new document.
If necessary, you can modify that detail and again save it as a new scrapbook detail, then both versions can be inserted in any new document or project.

1 Like

Have looked at Scrapbooks in layout?

1 Like

Scrapbook/s is new to me. I know nothing about it/them. I will have a look about on here…