Cutting rectangle out of another rectangle with specific dimensions?

Hi SketchUp community!

let me start by saying that I’m brand new to the software, working on my first project within it, a custom table I’m trying to build in my workshop. I have a 3 dimensional shape created, a rectangle representing a piece of plywood that’s 8 feet long, 3.6 feet wide, and 5/8" deep. What I need is to cut a 28.8" x 19" rectangular hole directly in the center of this shape. Intuitively, I thought it would be easy enough to make another rectangle on the shape itself using the shape tool, and then use the push/pull tool to remove the hole.

Unfortunately I have not been able to figure out how to make sure this shape is directly in the center of the larger rectangle. I can try and eyeball it, but that’s not going to work for me, since the purpose of this sketch is to give myself accurate measurements for cutting.

How should I go about achieving this goal? I can take some screenshots if that helps?

To really help you get off on the right foot go to The Learning Center and Sketchup You Tube. Both are full of GOOD info by the Sketchup Team.

1 Like

If I was doing it I would use inferencing and draw the smaller rectangle from the center. Look at the lower left of your SketchUp screen when you have the Rectangle tool selected. It’ll tell you that you can draw it from the center by tapping the Ctrl key.

3 Likes

Thank you both for your help! You used the word inferencing and after googling how that works in sketch-up, I’m far more dangerous now. I’ve cut my hole just as you demonstrated Dave, thanks again. Thank you also RLGL for the references, I will definitely dive in there the next time I get stuck.

2 Likes

Are you making your parts into Components as you finish drawing them?

For example, the ply table top, one long apron, one short apron, and a leg… Then copy and rotate or mirror the original component to complete the table.

1 Like