Can someone help a beginner please :-)

Hi, i’m very new to SKetchup, looked already a lot of vids, tutorials, but now. . . i’m stuck. . . I want to cut holes out of a rectangle , then push/pull the rectangle up, is no problem, but then. . .i want one side of the pushpulled rectangle to be higher then the other side. . . and that does not work. I made a group, i made component, i tried first push/pull en then i was able to change the object, but when i then cut out the rectangles of the bigger one, it also does not go, because it is a cut out “non parallel”. What am i doing wrong ? Im really sure it is a little thing, but i don’t find it… thanks for your help, best regards, Nino

Can you share your Sketchup file here so we can take a look? As you’re new you might have to make some more posts or read around the forum to be allowed to post files. When you can, just drag it where you type your reply or click the 8th icon from the left to upload.

1 Like

testrectangle.skp (176.0 KB)
Hi McGordon, thanks for your quick response, here is the upload. It is only a test, but when i know how to do. . .i can do properly. The meaning is to raise 1 side higher then the others. . .but i cannot do, and don’t know why, thanks a lot, have a nice evening, best regards, Nino

Sorry, but I don’t understand what you’re trying to do.

This edge is not vertical, it’s 1.2cm off the plumb

The small rectangles have created a hole underneath if you look at the underside. I don’t know if that’s what you want or not.

Do you mean one side of the main box higher like this?

i’m trying to get this. . . .

rectangle with rectangles cut out, and then a “tilt” in the shape

it is for accordion-use :slightly_smiling_face:

extrude to first thickness then select the face and rotate to match either a height or angle reference, this will match the base face

1 Like

If the rectangular holes are perpendicular to the top face in the photo, this is probably the easiest way: