Creating a Label legend, and displaying data in 2dtext neatly around group/component

Im looking for a feature which to me seem so basic for any CAD, that it must exist either as a work around or plug-in

I got an entity. I would like to make a small label stick to it with some custom data (e.g the item code from the shop, the unit , etc.). I want this data to be set in some sort of legend, that I could later on edit the look of. I want it on a seperate layer, that i can turn off. I would prefer it to be in SU, but since LO is the 2d part of the suite, i´ll probably have to do it over there.

my case:I work as a theatrical Lighting designer, and I often have about 200-400 lighting fixtures which needs to display at least 3 different numbers of data + some text. I need everything to be displayed ontop of the entity, not having leader lines cluttering the print - and I need one print with everything i A3 for the crew
Im looking for a function similar to what WYSIWYG or VectorWorks Spotlight have for labeling fixtures

I could do a scrapbook thing in LO, but only the arrow sticks to the entity if i later on move it around, and editing the data is a lot of clicks. Is there anything which allows me to open a menu, type in the data, set the increment, and then point`click at each fixture?

I could see this come in handy for a lot of SU users with different backgrounds and needs, so someone must be loking for something similar

You can use Dynamic Components for this :

The different options appear in the component options dialog!
StageLight.skp (264.0 KB)

You can display the different settings in LayOut by label text.

If the numbers run high you can export your dynamic data via ‘generate report’ in sketchup, save as CSV , and import the CSV as table in layout

2 Likes