Create surface (edge) between 2 curved surfaces

Hello, Im new in skechup and I cant figure out how to create edge between 2 surfaces…
FACE.skp (177.4 KB)

What version of SketchUp are you actually using? Your profile says 2021 Make which is impossible.

I have 2021 with lot of plugins, also 2022 without plugins…

Please correct your profile. Change Make to Pro. That information helps us help you and when it is wrong, it causes confusion.

There are different options available for this. You could use something like Curviloft to create the surfaces on the edges. I used Joint Push/Pull instead. I erased the inner surface before starting.

First, the outer surface of your shape needs to have face orientation corrected.It’s a mess at the moment.

After that I ran CleanUp3 to get rid of coplanar edges.
Screenshot - 6_1_2022 , 8_42_49 AM

Then Joint Push/Pull to create the thickness.

2 Likes

Almost there, but how to get rid of those ugly diognal lines? Those dont let me make nice plywood edge later on…

That’s due to the bad geometry of your original surface. If you clean the original better you can avoid those. Or you can get in there are draw in edges to isolate the bump and erase it.

How did you create the original surface in the first place? Seems to me it should be much less triangulated and the triangles that are required should be much more regular.

I didnt created this one, seems to be imported from somewhere…

Ah… Might be worth really cleaning it up. Depends on how you need to use it.

Im just using it for vray renders, need to add plywood edge, but diagonals messes up everything. Whats the best way to clean geometry of that edge?

may be create new surface from line with curviloft or other plugin?

I think creating a new surface from the borders is probably best. I would probably also redraw the borders to get cleaner, more regular curves.