Converting 3D to 2D plan | measurement issue important!

Hello everyone, I work in the solar energy industry, creating plans. To streamline this process, I first develop a 3D model of the house roof with solar panels using SketchUp. Subsequently, I aim to create a 2D plan in AutoCAD by directly converting the SketchUp model into a DWG file, employing top view and parallel projection techniques.
However, I have encountered an issue regarding the consistency of measurements between SketchUp and AutoCAD. Despite my efforts, I have found disparities that need to be addressed to ensure accurate design implementation.
I am writing to seek advice or solutions from anyone who might have experience or insights into resolving this discrepancy. Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.

The most common reasons for dimension disparities are having Lengtth Snapping enabled and coarse Display Precision set in SketchUp and/or not having the Camera set to Parallel Projection and the appropriate Standard View before exporting the .dwg file.

2 Likes

And ofcourse you could use Layout to produce 2D plans. It comes with SketchUp Pro.

1 Like

Post a model that shows the inconsistency you are talking about, and examples of the disparities so forum members can take a guess at what causes your troubles.

1 Like

Thanks for your help, but I’m encountering an issue with the tiled roof. Even when I utilize Parallel Projection and the top standard view, there’s still a difference between the 3D and 2D measurements. Although it’s not a significant gap, it mainly affects widths or lengths.

Have you read Dave’s advice on length snapping and display precision??

1 Like

yes, but problem not solved

This is my roof 3D model in SketchUp with measurements.

This is when I use parallel projection to view the roof from the top in SketchUp.