Complete Novice - Need Help converting Sketchup to STL for slic3r

Hi,

I’m hoping someone can help show me what i did wrong.
I have Sketchup make 2016, and i’m creating a 7 inch screen surround.
I used rectangles and push/pull tool to create the screen, and all looks good in SketchUp ( from my humble eyes ).
When i export it to an STL file ( installed Sketchup STL ) it completed screws up the model so it looks like there is no cut out for the screen, and there are triangles all over the place.

Can anyone help me? Thank you.

Protype7InchScreen_withCentralization_nologo1.1.skp (949.8 KB)

Your file is all loose geometry. I selected all, put them into a group, then ran the Solid Inspector2 extension. It found 17 internal faces - and fixed them!

Here’s the result:
Protype7InchScreen_withCentralization_nologo1 - FIXED.1.skp (1.0 MB)

That should work better with ANY slicer. I’m not in a position to try it with any slicer right now.

Your object is NOT a manifold solid.
Because of this exporters like STL might have issues…
It’s easy to fix it.
Use extensions like thomthom’s SolidInspector2 or my SolidSolver…
These will try to remove internal partition faces etc.
Protype7InchScreen_withCentralization_nologo1.1.skp (1.0 MB)
A solid group/component can only contain edges and faces and every edge must support exactly two faces.
This means that the following are NOT allowed:
faceless edges
edges with only one face - e.g. edges forming shelves or flaps or around ‘holes’
edges with more that two faces - e.g. internal partition faces where three or more faces share the same edge, or where two otherwise solid objects meet to share an edge - e.g. two ‘solid’ cubes, which have a common edge which supports four faces…

Wow - thanks for the help.

One last thing,

sjdorst and TIG, are you able to save the files as 2016 version files please? Im using 2016 version - I get an error saying file was created using a newer version. i have 16.1.1449.

Thank you.