Compatibility with Windows 10

Does anyone know if Sketchup Pro 2015 is compatible with windows 10? Im thinking of getting it (windows 10 that is) but not sure how sketchup will work with it. Any ideas?

1 Like

Windows 10 is not listed as supported in SketchUpā€™s hardware and software requirements because at the time of the last SketchUp update release it supported only operating systems released at that time. Conclusion: A next SketchUp update will give certainty.

Refer also to this advice:

And to this experience about using unsupported or beta software on production systems (although Windows 10 soon is not beta anymore and more stable):

You could consider safely installing it on a secondary system (or side-by-side to your production system) and see how it works out before you go all for it, or wait some time for SketchUp to bring official support.

1 Like

Thanks! Looks like I will be waiting to upgrade windows until an official release? As I am not a developer, what is the industry standard when it come to an Operating System update/new release and its compatibility with other software? Does that question make any sense?(if it is even answerable)

Windows has had a ā€œCompatibility Modeā€ for quite awhile. But I do not know if it will also exist in Windows 10.

Basically you right-click the application shortcut, and choose ā€œProperties.ā€
Look for a ā€œCompatibilityā€ tab.
There will be a group named ā€œCompatibility Modeā€ with a checkbox to run the application in a compatibility mode. When checked, the drop-down list becomes active and you can choose the Windows version for compatibility.
(Windows 7 compatibility modes go all the way back to Windows 95.)

Sweet! I hadnt thought of that. Thanks!

ā€¢iircā€¢ this only provides an application asking for a dedicated Windows version with a ā€˜fakedā€™ Windows version number sothat this setting wonā€™t help with functional problems caused e.g. by changed or removed APIs etc.

1 Like