Captions (created via text tool) don't render

Hello guys!

I’m totally new to the SketchUp, been a 3DsMax user but also amateur only. At the moment I’m creating a project of a desk for my mom and need to send it tomorrow’s morning to the carpenter. The only thing that’s left is showing him the dimension of every object of my desk. I love the fact that Text Tool is giving You these small arrows and pointers and You can write everything in the input box BUT unfortunately I don’t know how to render it. I’m using free Maxwell renderer now (since it has some amazing Walnut Wood materials) and it renders everything beside the captions.

I’d be more than thankful if someone could help me!

Text and dimensions are not renderable entities. An option, though is to make an image export directly from SketchUp and combine it with the rendered image.

Whaaaaat? :frowning: That’s terrible!

So are there only two solutions for making captions?

1. Not moving Your scene and just hiding everything than captions and then image exporting from SketchUp, next combining the render + exported image
  2. Putting the captions via Photoshop

Is there any particular reason why text and captions are not renderable?

Have you considered going with a less-artistic, but probably easier to read, printout? It seems to me that you would be somewhat less interested in impressing the carpenter with cool textures than in conveying to him the clearest possible representation of the geometry and associated dimensions. Not only is a third-party rendering unnecessary to this purpose, it would probably muddy the waters.