Can Sketchup help me?

I am a complete and utter beginner on 3D model design.

I have opted to use Sketchup Web after doing research on the best free packages for my Mac.

I have been commissioned to write a book on (you can laugh), British telegraph poles. I need to model all the components - poles, arms (both in wood), insulators (porcelain) and spindles (iron) plus numerous other components. It’s a bit like a Meccano set. Once I have produced 3D models of all these components I need to be able to put them all together t create my completed pole design and then place it in a photograph. I hope that makes sense.

I have been valiantly trying to acquire the fundamentals of Sketchup free trial for the past three weeks and scoured the internet for tutorials for beginners but they all all pitched (I feel) at someone who has a fundamental understanding of the process - and I don’t.

Can anyone help point me to how I can acquire the knowledge and skills to produce what I need to produce?

I am happy to send some photos of these components so someone can tell me whether what I want to do can actually be done in Sketchup Web, since I will not be able to afford to buy the software.

Any response and help will be so very much appreciated.

Regards.

Andrew

You could start with this: https://learn.sketchup.com/

Just a note, though, your use of SketchUp in your work means you would need to use SketchUp Shop or SketchUp Pro.

You may have a problem here. You want to use the software to help write a book. That sounds like commercial use. You cannot use any free version for commercial use.

Having said that, it sounds to me like SU would definitely do what you want. I might even nip out to the bottom of my garden and measure up my own telegraph pole to see how easy it would be to draw the various bits.

2 Likes

Here’s my 2 cents, from a fellow newbie probably only a few weeks ahead of you.