New to Sketchup - Noob annoyances

Hi Everyone. :slightly_smiling:

I’m new to Sketchup but I am finding it awesome.

I will be using this for designing hobby based stuff. The first time I downloaded Sketchup it was owned by Google. Since downloading it years later with the intention of using it to solve the issues I was having with flat 2D design I’ve noticed it doesn’t seem to be Google’s anymore.

I’ve downloaded the Make version as I imagine the pro version is extremely expensive (I won’t be making money from it). I was quite annoyed at the Pro version trail starting as default so I tried to change my calendar so it would terminate the trail but when I set my calendar back it just put me back in trial mode :confused: I don’t know what the difference is between them but ones things for certain I DID NOT WANT A TRAIL. Seems like its pushed down my throat even though it was suggested I download the free version as I am a hobbiest.

Second annoyance was looking for Sketchy Physics on the warehouse (Im assuming this is like an App store for plugins). Everywhere I look someone is using Sketchy Physics but I can’t seem to find a copy other than one I downloaded from a website which told me to put it into the non-existent Plugins folder in program files. :confused:

So far everything has gone great but these two things are driving me nuts. I can imagine that once my trail ends my model that I’ve been working on for days will suddenly stop working or have a bunch of things missing. How do you guys get around the missing pro version features and what is the equivalent to Google Sketchy Physics plugin from the Sketchup Warehouse?

Many thanks

Welcome to the forums!

As far as the differences between SketchUp make and Pro, They are quite nicely outlined here: http://help.sketchup.com/en/content/sketchup-make-and-sketchup-pro

As for Google, SketchUp is no longer affiliated with Google. It was sold to Trimble some time ago, so I hope that answers that.

1 Like