Bug? Length Snapping not working on edges?

Hi Everyone… doing another another covid lockdown exercise and struck this unexpected snapping action…

I am studying an interesting apartment in San Paulo (Archidaily link = Gallery of Ubá Residential Building / Jacobsen Arquitetura - 27 )
and tracing a floor plan to build and approximate 3d model.
The floor plan is a jpg texture applied to the outline of the ground slab and using the rectangle tool to create walls and room spaces with my length grid set to a convenient 50mm.

Everything is going as planned but I noticed that if the free end of my rectangle is not near any entities it respects the length snapping but as soon as I want to link to an existing wall [edge] the snapping function is disabled …

Very frustrating as the process is so quick if snapping distance was retained -

maybe SU needs a grid snap rather than a length snap?

Just noticed I lose snapping also when I inference an existing edge

Screenshot 2021-08-27 102422

Am I missing a modifier key to force length snapping in all cases?

Of course there are workarounds but the current action is certainly not intuitive

I would say that the current consensus is: Forget about length snapping. It is more a nuisance than anything useful.

Turn off length sampling.
Are those points really aligned by axis? Your image may not be exactly straight. Turn on crosshairs in preferences to see alignments better.

Well I know that is the common wisdom regarding length snapping and I would prefer there was a user definable snapping grid available but apart from this frustration I don’t have any problem quickly getting incremental setout based on my snap distance using this process and my question still stands is this a bug in distance snapping when referencing an existing edge ???

Perhaps Colin can explain the technical reason for this seeming anomaly in distance snapping ?