Cannot copy edges when I type a distance... nothing shows up...!

Longtime Sketchup user, just upgraded the entire office to 2021 Pro.

We’re having an issue where edges will not copy, when you type a distance by which to copy them.

For example, I want to copy an edge up 80 inches along a face, so I can push/pull across above that to create the wall above a door. I can copy to a snap location, like the midpoint of the vertical line, then move the line to the correct height by figuring out the distance, but this is obviously not a solution.

I can copy edges random distances, by moving the cursor along an axis and picking a spot. But I need the distance to be precise, and no matter how many times I try, it is simply not working. This seems like an immense bug, has anyone else encountered this? Is there a workaround? I’ve been using SU for 16 years, but I’m at a loss here…

ALSO, another user has the same issue and posted about it in September 2018, with no solution posted!
https://forums.sketchup.com/t/move-copy-specified-distance-does-not-work-in-vertical-axis/77679/6

Thanks, in advance!

Upload your .skp file so we can see what you are working with.

Cabin_CAD.skp (157.1 KB)

What edge are you trying to copy and in which direction?

FWIW, it would be a good idea to turn off Length Snapping and set Display Precision higher so you can see smalldimension errors.
Screenshot - 11_10_2021 , 8_20_37 AM

I’m trying to copy the short horizontal edge at the base of that wall up by 80 inches.

I made the changes to Units in the Model Settings, appreciate the tip, but it doesn’t solve this issue…

This is a known bug since four versions or so. Change the order of operations:

Place them at a random spot, then type the distance and hit enter.

Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…