Bloom Unit and my experiences with photo-realistic rendering

Previously I was a 3D game artist working in game engines like the Unreal Engine, and using traditional modellers like Maya. I eventually started work at migenius’ Melbourne office, who are a company that focuses on highly accurate, photo-realistic cloud based rendering systems.

When I came to migenius I was asked to learn about their products and use them, as well as try out and learn other rendering packages which are available and gain an understanding of them.

The packages that I have started off using are Bloom Unit a migenius product, Lumion and Vray, but I am hoping to expand my knowledge in all of these rendering packages and others as time goes on.

I’m using this thread to share some of the experiences i’ve had using the different packages. It’s all based off of my experiences and if you believe differently to them, it would be great for me to hear your thoughts.

When I first came to the migenius team, I was a 3D artist who had been working in the video game industry. And there were concepts in 3D realistic rendering that I didn’t even know about. A few weeks after starting I was given the task of building and lighting a small scene, which was a bedroom scene.

So I used Lumion to light it initially as it had spot lights and all the other assortment of lights that you’d normally find within game engines (I had a reversed normal in the wardrobe roof). I was then asked if I could also try doing the lighting using the migenius product Bloom Unit.

To be honest, even as a 3D artist I was super surprised at the results I got out of both of the packages with 0 experience in either.