Beginner - Sketchup "code review"?

Hi,

I’m a C# developer and spend 1 week on sketchup, trying to furnish my house.
Below a link to my project (sorry for sketchy link - no pun intended)

On the surface things seem to be going well but I’m pretty sure that I’m making some basic mistakes. Really interested to know what you guys think - like a code review?

For one, navigating my project seems slower than I would expect…
And I haven’t grouped anything, started with some “Tags” but I don’t really know how to properly clean stuff up now. I’m drawing lines for almost everything and using push/pull if I feel lucky.

Hope for some guidelines/directions to figure out what I’m missing. (Google is my friend)

It’s a good start for a new use. You should set it aside for a bit and go through the Fundamentals at learn.sketchup.com

You need to be using groups and components and learn to use those properly before you get started with tags. You should get in the habit of correcting face orientation when you have exposed blue back faces and if your computer is acting sluggish as you navigate the model, avoid using textures and materials until near the end of the modeling process to give your graphics card a chance to keep up. (Make sure the Nvidia card is set to display SketchUp instead of the integrated GPU.

You should also get into the habit of cleaning house once in awhile. I purged unused stuff from your model and got rid of a bunch of stuff. I’m letting CleanUp run and do more looks like it’s got a little while to run. When it is finished I’ll return with the results.

Purge Unused:
Screenshot - 12_1_2020 , 6_12_48 PM

After CleanUp
Screenshot - 12_1_2020 , 6_24_56 PM

Your file is the third one. After all that purging and cleaning your file has been reduced by a little more than 62%. It’ll be more responsive then.
Screenshot - 12_1_2020 , 6_25_49 PM

myhouse purged cleaned.skp (13.9 MB)

1 Like

Thanks! I’ll have a look at those tutorials as well.

One more question.