Beginner needs help- How to create CAD (dxf, eps) file from my Model?

OK- I am just starting out at Sketch Up- I have designed a beehive and am ready to make a prototype. I want to get all the wood parts precision cut with a CNC router. I contacted some people who do this and they asked for a CAD file in either DXF or EPS format. I am using SketchUp Make version.

How do I go from a model in sketch up to a file I can send to the CNC people?

please forgive my ignorance.

Sketchup Make doesn’t export dxf file. Maybe find a plugin that does that or ask someone to do it for you.

Before that though, you would need to disassemble your model and have all the parts laid flat, then all the parts exploded and keep only the top lines, something like this.

When you have them like so, you would need to export it to dxf.

Hello there,

thanks for that- I read already about laying out the components onto sheets as you describe- my plan was to work out the basic size of my base material planks- then lay out the components onto those sheets in skect up- then export as you described. However some of my parts have rebates etc, and I want to get cut with a CNC router- which- apparently- can cut out the outline edge shape and also cut out rebates, etc working in 3d. So wouldn’t I need to produce some kind of 3d CAD file?

I am not sure- perhaps I am using the trial version of sketch up- as in the file menu there is an option to ‘export as dxf’?

I really am ignorant at this stage- and trying to learn- basically what I need help with is:

How to I best translate my sketch up wood work model into a file that I can give to the CNC precision cutting people?

I really appreciate your help.

Hmm, you would better ask the CNC guys.
I know just a little about CNC and most of the stuff usually is made when the toolpaths are created.