Array existing hole

I am relatively new to sketch up. Can I array (pattern) existing holes.

Example: I have a metal post with holes at every 75mm. I want to extend the post height 2000mm and then continue the existing holes up the post at the 75mm pitch

So far I can move a hole but cannot seem to array the hole by pressing “Control” followed by the distance and number of instances

Hi Michael.

Click in sequence on the scenes tabs of this SU file for ideas.

Post to be extended.skp (501.4 KB)

Thanks, I will have a look at your post later this afternoon, your assistance is greatly appreciated

Michael

Thanks for the info Jean. This still seems a quite long winded process. It seems strange that I can move a hole easily but can not hold control and copy a hole then pattern as you can with other features

I have come from a Solidworks background where this was a really straight forward process

If the post profile is a simple rectangle, reducing to 2D and re-push-pulling afterward takes seconds. Nice to use invert selection (and have it set to a hotkey), to easily select all the “non-2D-ness.”

Double-click face to highlight like so, then Invert Select and Delete.

Copy-array the holes and push-pull. Whole thing takes like 15 seconds.

If the profile is more complex, you can create a punch-out solid from copying the circle, leaving the group, paste-in-place, create a new group and open it, form a solid with push-pull, and array that. Then subtract in Solid Tools. It’s not super-fast, but.

Screen Shot 2021-02-07 at 12.05.06

See the Solid Tools and Groups skill-builder for further info on cutting with an array.

Hi Michael.

This is not a long process.

Click in sequence on the scenes tabs of this SU file for ideas.

As I wrote at the end this it should not take more than 2 minutes to do and, with practice, it can be done in less than 30 seconds. I just did a test and I got 40 seconds doing it at a lazy pace.

Post with holes.skp (137.6 KB)

Thanks Brian and Jean.