Appropriate models in 3D Warehouse

I’m a male SU Pro user. As much as I might be titillated by the supposed humor in the drawings of women in the Sketchup Warehouse 3D models I’m wondering if there is any concern that the sexualization of women in the work place even seeps into the virtual world. I hate to be overly PC but with 2 daughters, one a landscape architect and the other in Tech-both male dominated professions- I have to be a responsible user/designer and request that some over sight should be placed on the content. It’s pretty obvious what images are appropriate in the context of design. Search for “people” or “People sitting”

3 Likes

As a female SU Make user, let me tell you why there are so many female models on the warehouse and not males:
The simple reason is that most SU users and modellers are males, so they choose female models to work with.

When I started modelling with Sketchup, some of the first models I downloaded were female (and typically nude), and I spent a lot of time creating clothing for those models once I’d learnt how to write Ruby scripts.

I still create clothing for the models I upload, although often I find those models reposted, without the clothing. Warehouse users need to be 13 and above, although I understand that anyone can download - however to be reasonable, the Internet isn’t a safe place for youngsters, and in my opinion that is for you to enforce controls over your family, not require Trimble to spend the money to police for you.

Mostly the content in 3D Warehouse is worth what you pay for it. Probably the proliferation of nude women there is due to people posting converted models from applications like Poser, not original content they made themselves.