Apple lauded Sketchup's performance on the new M3 Max laptops at the "Scary Fast" keynote tonight

Apple lauded Sketchup’s performance on the new M3 Max laptops at the “Scary Fast” keynote tonight.

Anyone know anything specific about Sketchup performance on the M3 Max??? Layout?

Best,

Wm

It’s going to improve for sure but not something very noticeable specially on Layout, I have the i7 13700K which is one of the most powerful CPU’s I got recently an upgrade from the 4070ti to a 4080 and also have an M1 max that is very powerful as well, but there are more things that must improve on the software side, Im not a developer so i couldn’t say exactly what should be done, I just know that apple doesn’t support newer versions of OpenGL which is the API that Sketchup and Layout use. On a thread posted some months ago I read that the developers are working on a migration from OpenGL, right now the best API´s are Metal for MacOS and DirectX for Windows and a lot of programs on mac are built using metal, like blender, archicad and vectorworks, besides the latest games that need to get the most out of a machine. Trimble keeps very secret their plans regarding future releases and features so it’s hard to know what are they working on, I just hope they keep up with the latest technologies and competition so we can enjoy this great software even more.

PD. If I said something wrong about the API´s or anything related to software development, dont be harsh on me I´m just an architect that loves technology.

2 Likes

Hi,

answered in the other thread

short is, no. we don’t know anything. And don’t hold your breath, just because SU was taken as an example in the 30 min long commercial last night doesn’t mean much. Wait and see.

I did order one. Will know in a couple of weeks what things are faster compared to either Intel or M1 Macs.

2 Likes

Was sketchup involved in testing the new M3 Max MacBook Pros?

if they did, it was under a heavy NDA from Apple. they’ll never tell you.