Animating In SketchUp

I’m new to SketchUp and exploring what it can do. I just came upon an animation extension (should I post a link?) which is boosting my enthusiasm for SketchUp considerably. I’m used to animating in my video editor and would love to do so in SketchUp as well.

So here’s a thread about SketchUp animation, which I’ve started hoping to learn more. I’m a newbie in SketchUp Make, but please feel free to take animation conversations where ever you wish to go, as any discussion will be educational here. If you’re animating in SketchUp and would like to show us what you’re doing, please do.

I’m not sure how to compare the kind of animation created in a video editor vs. what can be done in SketchUp. Seems like apples vs. oranges. I use iMovie for video editing. It’s great for picture-in-picture, pan-and-zoom, transitions between clips, titles, etc. but cannot do anything with 3D object space.

I have used @Fredo6’s Animator extension a lot. It is packed with features. As a result, it is somewhat overwhelming at first. But it is very capable. Here are some (longish) videos with most of the animation done via Animator:

One weakness with Animator is that it struggles with large models (i.e., 100+ groups and components, 100K to 1M+ edges and faces): performance issues, the GUI gets out-of-sync sometimes, occasionally it causes SketchUp to crash. Save often! It has been worth it to me because the results are what I have been looking for.

2 Likes

Thanks for the introduction to Animator Tom, I’ll investigate further. I didn’t realize anything as sophisticated as your vids could be made in SketchUp, so I’m further intrigued by the possibilities.