Aligning from a radiused corner

Hello all, newbie here (SU Make V17.2.2555 64-bit)so please bear with me and the long winded question.
I’m drawing a small 4’ x 8’ utility trailer I built years ago just as an exercise in Sketchup.
The perimeter frame rails are 2 x 3 x 3/16 rectangular tubing with the 3" dimension vertical. The bunks (crossmembers) are 2 x 2 x 3/16 angle spaced at roughly 16 or so inches c/c and are 1" down from the top surface of the tubing to allow for the use of 1" decking and to keep it flush to the top of the tubing. The frame rails being tubing, have a radiused corner which brings me finally to my question.
How to I place a layout line down 1" from the top of the tubing that I can snap the top surface of the angle to to get an accurate placement. Since the corner of the tubing is radiused, I don’t have a sharp or defined corner to snap from.
I have no doubt there is a simple solution but it escape me. Hopefully I’ve attached a screenshot…Mike

trailer

Turn on Hidden Geometry so you have an edge to snap to.

1 Like

Hi Dave, thanks for the reply but I don’t understand how that helps, there’s still no corner to snap a reference line from. I.E. in this screenshot what would I snap from to drop[ a line 1" down vertically on the surface of the tube.
What am I missing :slight_smile: …M

trailer 2

how about just drawing some geometry from the top and then 1" down. This will give you a mark 1" from the top.

Something like this

ezgif.com-gif-maker

Hope this helps
ChrisD

1 Like

Hi Chris,
I was thinking of going that route but I was hoping there’d be a way without having to create extraneous geometry. I know, not a big deal to delete it after I’m done and it’s not earth shattering.
Thanks for the reply, all suggestions gratefully accepted…M

If you use inference locking you can move the guide accurately into position with a couple of clicks.
Inference lock

4 Likes