Advice/Help on Modeling Curved Chair

Hi,

I’m still pretty new at Sketchup and am having some difficulties determining the best and simplest route to go to modeling certain pieces of furniture.
For example, this chair:

I can figure out the cushions, but the frame of the chair is giving me some trouble. The legs are rounded, yet seem more flattened in some areas (look at back leg near the wood base ). Looking at the legs’ silhouette, they also seem to curve very slightly inward at the banded areas, and then outward again, etc - almost a very slight “beaded” look. And then, to top that off, each leg as a whole seems to have a slight curve. All of these variances in the curves are greatly confusing me… I can’t seem to figure out a good method of action to model this frame. :pensive:

If you were given this chair to model, how would you go about doing it? Any picture examples you’d like to include would be very helpful. I really want to get better at Sketchup - thanks in advance for any and all help!

Hey Bailey,
I’m still learning myself but I ran across this man’s work the other day and I think he must have a chair similar to this that you could look at, tear apart. You might even be able to talk to him about it.

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/by/DavidHeim

It’s a very large library so be warned, but it’s very smart looking modeling in my opinion.

1 Like

Thank you for the reference - I took a peek and he does have a lot of good stuff in there!

Sure does…I have had a bit of interaction with him and it looks like he even does paid training sessions. You might consider that.

1 Like