Adding a base to a model for 3D printing

I have never used sketchup before, but I have a lot of experience with other 3d modeling softwares.

I have a sketchup file that I am trying to 3d print of a city from 3D Data Download Map - GIS - City of Cambridge, Massachusetts

The problem is that the base of the model isn’t flat and I don’t know how to add a flat base onto it that matches up with the terrain but doesn’t go over any of the buildings on the lower areas.

I’ve already tried extruding a rectangle to the lowest point of the base, but that leaves a gap in the print where the terrain goes up.

Can you provide a link to your SketchUp model - via Dropbox, OneDrive or WeTransfer for example?

That way, someone can see what you’ve got and make suggestions, rather than having to guess.

John is correct. If you can share the .skp file we can give you guidance without having to guess at what you currently have. I did guess, anyway. Is this the sort of thing you are trying to end up with?

Here is one of the files I’m looking at: CAMB3D_D3_SketchUp_Model.skp - Google Drive

Yes, that’s exactly what I’m looking for.

First you need to clean up the perimeter of the terrain group. You need to open it for editing (right click on it and choose Edit group) and erase the bad geometry along the edges. Here I show some of it selected in yellow. Those faces are vertical and will prevent the object from being considered solid and 3D printable. I also softened the edges on the surface of the terrain to make it easier to see the stuff that needs fixing.

In order to make the base a “solid” and 3D printable, you need to add the geometry into the terrain group so that also requires having the group opened for editing.

Here I’m using a simpler example because your model is so huge it’s killing my graphics card. Draw vertical lines down from the corners and connect them with horizontal lines.