3d printing model errors- help!

Hi there. Newbie here. I’m a teacher who is tutoring a student, and one of his subjects is 3d design. We’re trying to print a cup from the 3d warehouse, but it keeps saying model errors: Your model is not manifold. It appears there are some holes, but I’m not sure how to fix them. Can anyone help explain what I should do? STL attached. Thanks for your help!
3dcup3.stl (32.6 KB)

Amanda

Can you share the .skp file? It would help us identify what is preventing it from being solid.

The .stl exhibits a bunch of reversed faces, holes in the surface and the bottom has no thickness.

1 Like

I am fairly sure this file was not designed to be printed… it has a lot of backwards faces and overlapping geometry. Just becuse it is on 3DWarehouse does not mean it was created to be printed.

On that STL there are reversed faces, there are small holes in a bunch of places and the components that make up the cup on the whole are not solid.

You probably need to learn to use SketchUp for solid modelling
SketchUp Campus
, or find a model designed to be printed in the first place - the 3D warehouse isn’t really the place for that.

Thingiverse - Digital Designs for Physical Objects might be better to get a cup from

Here I’ve fixed the incorrect face orientation. All blue backfaces must face the print media and the white ones must face air. I’ve redrew the cup itself so there are no holes and so the bottom has thickness.

I also softened edges so it looks nicer although that isn’t a requirement to be printable.

How big is the cup supposed to be?

Thank you so much for your quick response and help! You are awesome! We were just doing a mini cup, about 3-4 inches. Do you think that will print okay on my printer? I have a Ender Max 3 Neo. I’ve only printed bigger things on my printer.

Thank you again for your help!

Thank you! I will definitely see if I can find a similar cup on Thingyverse and we can check out the SketchUp Campus as well!