Working with Google Earth location

Hello,

I’m new to SketchUp but I have worked through some tutorials on the basics (Navigation, Selection, Rectangle, Move, Rotate etc.). However all these tutorials worked with objects within Sketchup without any reference to a Google Earth location.

I’m now trying to place a component on a roof surface that I have added via Geo-Location, and what I’m finding is that when I use the orbit tool for instance, the component seems to be moving on the roof surface (i.e. if I use the Tape Measure tool and measure distance to the roof edge before I use Orbit and after I use Orbit, then the distance has changed).

So it would seem that I’m doing something wrong, but I have no idea what.

After some suggestions on what to try or advice on some tutorials that will help me understand how to work with images added via Geo-Location

Thanks

VW

Is the component a ‘Face Me’ component, one that rotates about its own vertical axis. when you orbit.
Look at its properties in the ‘Entity Info’ window after selecting the component.

If so, you can change its properties in the ‘Component Browser’. Uncheck ‘Face Me’.

1 Like

This is approach I have not seen before but I could have complete misunderstanding what / why you are following this approach.
Can you post your model and get me out of the woods?
Usually one makes a model and geo-locates it for preview in Google Earth to see how it " fits" in or else grabs the snap shot of the location and the terrain for modeling therein. Conversely one can use a photo image and use photo match to create a model, see this link Using Trimble Vision images to create SketchUp models. Using Trimble Vision images to create SketchUp models