Why can't I make a grouped object Unique

Hey guys and gals,

Is it me or is the new 2023 Sketchup version different to 2022 regarding grouping geometry and easily having the option to make it unique? - Yes my 2023 Sketchup is also updated being that it is the 21st of March.

I’ve been using SketchUp for 3 months and have practised and observed from others that when I have to copy geometry that is not a component, I am always able to make it unique.

NOW… yikes, now I have to make my geometry a component that then needs to be grouped (because it’s a developing floorplan). From apply the advice from the below link = only then does the “Unique” tab appear. - For the purpose of creating a developing floorplan that will be edited, creating any copy to be a component and then to group it back, doesn’t make any sense to me.

I’ve also checked out: Make Unique Tool - and tried it out, but once again - my copy was changing from my original model, which is not what I wish to do.

If anyone could kindly suggest how I can copy grouped geometry that will not be linked to the original, that would help me out.

Kind regards

A

Make Unique applies only to components and is only available if there’s already more than one instance of a component in the model and your selection set is less than all of the instances of the component.

If you want a group why are you starting out making a component? Just make a group instead.

Your workflow doesn’t make any sense to me, either. Seems like you need to go back to the basics.

To help achieve your goals, some time spent at the SketchUp Campus and at the SketchUp - YouTube channel will be very worthwhile. Both sites are from the SketchUp team. On the YouTube channel, pay attention to the Square One Series. It covers the basics for each tool.

Groups automatically become unique the moment you edit them in any shape or form - this may even be as simple as renaming it or painting a face