Who uses Trimble Connect, and how?

So there has been a lot of promoting of Trimble Connect. I had a little look, and for me, it doesn’t really offer much more than what I get from Dropbox. I am a sole trader, however, often working with other architects and engineers, so it may be just that it isn’t aimed at people like me, but for larger organisations.

I am a bit skeptical, but what are other people’s experiences with it?

2 Likes

For me it’s a handy cloud based storage area. I generally work alone but I’ve done some experimentation with another SU user and found that the collaboration things is good. Not only can both of us work on a Sketchup or LayOut file but there’s documentation that shows when one of us opened it or saved it. It 's also nice to have the ToDo list and other stuff like that. With unlimited storage in TC, I don’t have to worry about filling it up like I do with Drop Box unless I want to buy more Drop Box space.

Trimble Connect is a project management/collaboration service and application platform that spans all of Trimble Buildings’ divisions. Those in the SketchUp community may not find all of its features and products valuable but we hope that some of the features may be of use.

Here is a short list of features that I think the SU community might like to try out.

Version Control
Like dropbox, TC can be used as a storage platform… but a part of the project features is its form of VERSION-CONTROL for your skp work. So, if you set up your sync correctly or if you manually upload your skp file every so often, you will have a version history that you can access.

Sync Tool