White Patches on Surfaces - Beginner Query

Hi Everyone,

I am a rookie in this program. Therefore, I was wondering if someone could explain why the issue mentioned below occurs and how to fix it.

I placed a rectangle on a surface such as a square on a floor or wall. However, I always get a white patch on the area of the shape. I have posted a two pictures for reference below.

That’s referred to as Z-fighting. You have two faces sharing the same place in space and your graphics card can’t decide which one is in front.

This tends to happen when you create geometry on top of other grouped geometry. In your second screen shot your “window” wouldn’t cut through the wall if you were to extrude it.

This can also appear when there’s a very tiny gap between faces if viewed from a great distance.

Thank you for the quick response. I really appreciate it. You are correct about the wall. Only that particular wall, I am unable to push-pull to create an opening.

How can I fix both the issues? i.e. z-fighting and wall extruding issues.

If the wall geometry is grouped, you need to open the group for editing (right click on it and choose Edit Group) and then draw the rectangle and push through.

Another common problem for newbies is that they don’t get things drawn on plane. This could also cause the problem but without seeing your model, it’s hard to tell if that’s an issue.

As for getting rid of the Z-fighting, you have to do things that don’t make it occur. Why did you draw the rectangle on the floor? If it is to become a cabinet, using Push/Pull to make it 3D will prevent that from showing. If you are trying to divide the floor into smaller sections, again, you need to open the group for editing before drawing the rectangle.