Which Computer Tower?

I am looking to purchase a computer tower for Revit, Sketchup, and AutoCAD. I dont have any technical knowledge to construct a tower from scratch so I need something I can go to BestBuy or Amazon and buy it completely ready to go. I plan to plug the tower into an old TV monitor I have with an HDMI cable. Unfortunately, I really only have $1,500-$1,800 to buy it. What tower do you suggest?

If this is How you plan to make a living I suggest you find a way to raise your budget.

I agree it’s a low budget but I am a student working part time. That’s all I have and even that I only have because of tax returns. Im looking for a budget option to help me get through school and then I will upgrade it once I’m actually working.

If that is what you need, I would suggest finding the best computer for Revit that you can for that price. Revit is far more demanding than SketchUp…

2 Likes

You can get a decent entry comp for 1500-1800, looking at the requirements, Revit seems to be the dimensioning factor.
And yeah, Ccaponigro is right, bigger budget would be better, but short of selling body parts, you’re a student with a student budget, you’ll find something.
Many of us have been there, and unless you’re in a country where it’s normal to start adult live super in debt, you’ll do with what you can get. Good point of a tower is that you can upgrade as you go (and as you make money), so you might start with 16Gb RAM and use first paycheck to go 32, or evolve your processor in a year. Start where you can, and grow, like a business.

Apparently, looking at medium specs for revit 2023 (link above) :
You’ll need a 4gb graphics card, no need for a super top high end 4090 of some kind, since you’re not talking about rendering. 16+gb ram, you can stay with DDR4, no need for DDR5 (it’ll cost a lot more and we’re on budget here)
Processor, it seems you’ll be ok with 2,5+ GHz, i5 might be cheaper than i7/9