Advice on Affordable computer for Newbie

Budget: around $1,500
Looking to get a desktop iMac

I know nothing about sketchup nor about computers. I just started learning this week. Part owner of a small residential construction business looking to model simple floor plans, kitchens and bathrooms and render to show to clients.

Any other advice would be appreciated :pray:

Your profile says you are using the Free Plan" which is a web based version for hobby users. Using it for your business would not be allowed. You should be using and learning SketchUp Pro. As for your computer shopping, start with the system requirements for SketchUp Pro and use that as a minimum. Also consider the needs of other applications you migt need to use. For example how do you plan to use your SketchUp models once you have them? Are you intending to make photo-realistic renders?

SketchUp will only use one core in the CPU so faster will be more useful than a large number of cores. Look through the other threads here for more details. Don’t cheap out on the computer. Probably better to go with a better one up front than to go cheap and then find you need to upgrade in six months or a year.

Also, as you are learning to use SketchUp, pay close attention to learning how to make clean, lightweight models so you aren’t creating ones that are difficult for the computer to manage.

Hey Dave thanks for the comment and advice!
At the moment since I know nothing about sketchup I am just using the free Version to learn the basic before purchasing the pro. A lot of things to learn but YouTube is making it a little less stressful.

Down the road I do want to be able to do photo realist renders but at the moment I just want to be able to do presentable models so the clients can get a better view of their ideas.

You have a point on going about getting a better computer from the start. I’ll see if that can be possible.

Thanks again for the advice!