Where's North?

Hi
Fresh Newbie here, using the the Web Version.

I can set my location alright, I can set the date, and time of day.
But I can’t find how to point to north…
:slightly_smiling_face:
and though I don’t know for sure where north is in me sketch, I do know it’s wrong, cuz the shadows fall in the wrong direction… :slightly_frowning_face:

again, web version here, slightly different than what i see in online tutorials.
Thanks for your time and effort.

The default north is away from the origin along the solid green axis. In the Pro version of SketchUp you can change the direction of north but not in the free versions.

This is something I’ve been stumped on for a while. If the green axis is north then intuitively if you change the axis it would change the north… but it doesn’t. How do I go about changing the direction of north with the axis without just rotating everything on my model?

By default the green axis is aligned with North. North isn’t determined by the green axis. The location of the ground plane is fixed as are the standard views which are also not dependent on the axis orientation. In SketchUp Pro you can change the Solar North direction using the Solar North plugin available from the Extension Warehouse.

As Dave said North is initially aligned with the green (Y) axis.

Also you are making an incorrect assumption about the drawing axes (ie what you see on the screen.)
These axes are not the model axes. They are a UCS. (A user coordinate system.) You can change them to help you draw, but the actual model’s origin and it’s X axis, Y axis and Z axis remain fixed.
When you open a new model in SketchUp from any supplied template, the drawing axes will be aligned with the model axes. (Before you ask, yes, SketchUp lacks a feature to display the fixed model axes on demand. There may be a plugin that will do this.)