Warning Noob Question

OK, first I have NO experience with CAD. Second, I have a Mechanical Engineering background that is 5 decades old. Third, I am mostly interested in using SketchUp for the EASY layout of woodworking projects with various types and thicknesses of wood, with various styles of joinery (rabbits, dados, pocket holes, etc).
I say easy because I am looking for a sort of pick the material-size it to the project-put in the joinery and be done with it. So if I want to use a 2x4 I want to pick it off a list, have it modeled at the right dimensions (2x4 is 1.5 x3.5). If I want to put a dado in for a 1/4" (which is really .224") I want the software to handle it for me. OK, that sounds lazy I know but it is how I really want things to work.
Can SketchUp be set up this way? I am will to do the setup but I need to know that it can be done before investing the time and energy into it.
Thanks for putting up with a Noob question!!
GregDC

You can create components that you can save to insert for later use if that’s appropriate although it is not difficult to model the components as you go. Most of the furniture I model is more one-off stuff so I don’t use premade components for the wood parts. Adding details for joinery is straightforward and with the right work flow and tools, very easy. You’ll wish you could do the same in the shop with the real wood.

I have found I can use the processes I would go through in the shop as sort of a guide for the way I work in Sketchup while at the same time the modeling process informs the work flow in the shop. Something like the Greene and Greene-inspired bed is really quite easy once you’ve learned the basics.