Dimension lumber components and/or extension?

Hello,

I am new to Sketchup and this is my first post in the Sketchup Community/Forum.

I’m an intermediate woodworker and enjoy building various types of furniture…and I’ve always wanted to find a fairly easy to use CAD program to draw my projects (versus in my head or on paper).

My question is…isn’t there a ‘library’ of dimension lumber (ie…2"x4", 4"x4", etc) built for Sketchup that I can use for all my different woodworking designs? I’ve been digging around the extension warehouse but have found nothing there that fits my needs. I know drawing dimension lumber is fairly simple and straight forward (now that I’ve learned how to do that) but I would think there should be a library of different dimension lumber that woodworkers could use without having to “reinvent the wheel” for each project.

Also, if there isn’t a library like this anywhere, how could I go about building my own library of dimension lumber components so that I can reuse them for all my woodworking designs? Like I said, I’m really new to Sketchup so I’m assuming there is a way to build my own components and store them in my own library (sorry if I’m not using the correct terminology).

Thanks,
Jeff

If you look in the 3D Warehouse, instead, you’ll find a number of different options for components you can drag into your model if you want. You’ll even find Dynamic Components with dimensions that can be modified in a window or otherwise. That sort of workflow will actually be more work than drawing parts as you need them because you will spend a lot of time editing, moving, and rotating the parts to get them into the right position. It’s also more prone to error. If you want to work that hard, you certainly can.