Splitting fixed sized wood timber frame, into component parts

Hi, I’m new to SU and stuck at my very start of my project.

My timber supplier provides fixed lengths framing timber but I will need to cut these to desired dimensions and was wondering if there is any way for SketchUp to use my custom component and show the individual pieces as I cut them, whilst keeping track (inventory? list and quantity of materials needed).

For example, the supplier has a standard timber size of 75x225x4800mm. I have designed the timber as a Component (75x225x4800mm) in SketchUp. Now, my project (custom bed frame) requires a rectangular base of dimenstions: 2off 75x225x1420mm and 2off 75x225x540mm. How would I use SketchUp to create/“cut” my Component into required lengths (540 and 1420) to draw the base, AND such that SketchUp would “know” the quantity of the standard 75x225x4800 I would need to make the that base.

?

You’re doing this in the free web version? You’ll need to do some of it manually. You might name the components based on the full length and just edit the components for length to suit.

If you were using the desktop version you could use a cutlist extension to give you much of that information automatically.

If you are on the free Version, you need to make each sized component ‘Unique’ and use the length as indicator of the name…

appreciate the replies guys; accept my apologies, I should have stated that I am using SketchupPro 2019 v19.3.253.

CutList?

Unique components ?- I already have one called “Framing Timber” and that’s one piece as supplied by the merchant , of size 75x225x4800mm - I need to know how many of them I need for my proiject that uses several of these (I presume) but cut to shorter lengths such as 1410mm and 540mm.

p.s. In Extension Warehouse there are lots of “Cut List” extensions??

Please fill in your profile correctly.

See this blog post:

If you have the desktop version: you can use Generate Report