Want to import plants from overhead view

I am new to sketchUp or any program like it. I need to import plants, rocks, shrubs & trees. I looked at 3d warehouse but when I did import a shrub it showed it as a thin line from overhead. I need to see the width from over head & also need to label everything. Any suggestions, with specific instructions, would be great! Thanks!

You need to make sure you’re importing 3D components as opposed to 2D components from the warehouse.

still just gives me a straight line from overhead

Paste a link for the specific warehouse component here so we can look at it.

is this what you mean?

hmm link not showing up…

Also wondering, as I add plants, how to make sure they are scaled to my drawing?

And, if i later want to move a plant, can I? Say I put a bush somewhere than later realize it needs to move over, how can I do that when I already added other items?

Must each new plant be on a new layer?

It may be helpful to determine how you want to use the entourage elements being imported. If you bring in a bunch of 3D rocks, plants, etc., this could significantly increase the size of your model and could potentially slow down the operation of your system because each component has a relative size. This may not be an issue if the size of your models are small, but if you are working on a large site or an intricate building, the supporting entourage elements could pose a problem…

For my large models, I make use of 2D entourage elements and save them as “face me” components. This helps keep file size manageable. Where I need to see these elements from above, I use multiples of the same component overlaid at right angles to each other, sometimes with the outline emphasized as a circle. See attached as an example…SiteTree_typ.skp (486.9 KB)