Other sources for 3D models?

Hi all, I’m a garden designer using a somewhat specialized plant palette, and quite often I can’t find the plants I need in 3D Warehouse. Are there other sources (paid or otherwise) for Sketchup-compatible 3D plant models? I’ve poked around a bit on Google and haven’t really found what I’m looking for. I’ve tinkered with various importer plugins and file types that aren’t compatible with Sketchup, but as I’m a somewhat tech-hesitant horticulturist, I’d ideally like to find something straightforward and easy to use.

1 Like

It’s worth checking that when you searched for plants you had the Models tab selected. The Products tab is unlikely to show many plants.

What is an example plant you’re looking for?

1 Like

have you looked at the RPC content from Archvision https://archvision.com/rpc/ its a paid site and they have hundreds of plants.

I’ve made a few face me models in a pinch, but they just don’t look very professional.

Thanks, this looks promising!

Thanks, I am searching for models and not products.

I use native plants of the east coast of the US. A lot of our common natives (like Echinacea) are available, but I’m coming up empty on things like Kalmia latifolia or Actaea racemosa. Searching common names doesn’t seem to help. I can occasionally find 2D face me elements but these aren’t really suitable for what I’m doing.

might expand your search query to include “plant entourage”

When I’m searching in 3D Warehouse, or elsewhere? What does the “entourage” signify?

entourage is thinks like plants, cars, people that can be inserted into models for final images. Back in the dark ages we used to trace entourage out a book of images

1 Like

I am an architect so plants for me are more “entourage” than representatives of defined species. I find that 2D face-me plants are most often quite enough for my needs. Of course, they look like nothing in plan views, so I usually combine them with a 2D plan image on a separate layer