Want to convert SU model to something I can use on CNC

Hello,

This is my first attempt at using a Sketchup model to CNC parts. The attached file is very, very basic. What I’m trying to do is generate a model that I can then convert to the appropriate file type for the CNC and cut out 4-6 of the Brackets from the Plywood object.

Two things I’m struggling with:

1. How to draw the brackets on the plywood object in such a way that the CNC will know to cut it correctly. In other words, so the CNC only cuts the the outline of the brackets. My first thought was “is it possible to push/pull just the outline?” but that doesn’t seem like it would be the way. Even if it is, I can’t figure out how I could possibly do that.

2. How to generate a file in the format a CNC will understand

If someone has any links they can point me to I don’t mind doing some reading and learning on my own. My searching either comes up with an overwhelming amount of hits or nothing useful at all.

Thanks in advance for any help.

PS-The CNC belongs to the Maker Space I am a member of. I’m going there
tonight and I’ll get the make/model of it in case that helps.

LeoClimbingGymBrackets.skp (417.1 KB)

Depends on what format you need for the machine to read - but likely you could just draw it all in 2d and export to DXF.

Or, if you have them modeled in 3d as components built out of separate component parts - lay all the pieces flat on an outline of the plywood you are using, then you can flatten everything - or you can the component, select a face, delete everything, paste in place the face, exit that component and repeat (you will be making a bunch of small 2d pieces) then make sure everything is flat and export to the format you need. (I did this for some things I made using a laser cutter at a maker space).

1 Like