Help with sketchup model to cnc- truck bumper

I purchased a custom truck bumper plan that was designed in Sketchup. I am trying to get a set of files in dxf or jpeg together to send to my local machine
dxfshop so they can cut the parts out on their cnc, but I’m not having any luck.

I have tried the “simple dxf” extentsion, but when i go through the steps on the extension, and save the file as a dxf, the file is blank in my dxf viewer and my cnc guy can’t see anything either.

I also purchased the “get fabber” extension. When I use this, it saves to an svg file but is really pretty useless.

Please help! I’m willing to upload the model if that would help. I’m a complete novice at this software.

The components/groups you export for the operations must contain geometry and all of those components/groups must be nested inside a component/group outer container.

It would be my first guess you haven’t made the outer container but uploading the file would be useful too.

Your profile says you are using SketchUp 2020 Pro. Have you tried the native dxf exporter?

I have tried the native export and it just makes a dxf of the entire model, so not helpful for my cnc person.

ill try the suggestion above. I’m not wanting to upload the model just yet as It’s not my work and I don’t want it to get stolen from the creator.

You could copy/paste just that one component into a blank model and try the native dxf exporter on that

Are you trying to create flat patterns something like this?

Those little pieces floating above are the parts that going in at the step-downs indicated by the arrows.

1 Like

yes that is exactly what I’m looking for! How do I do that!?