VRay cloud rendering

I currently design in Sketchup and render using twilight. I’m looking to switch to VRay rendering and am also looking into increasing my computer power, I currently use a Mac. My designs end up being huge because I’m a garden designer and all the plants use a million polygons.

If I use cloud rendering, do I still need to increase my computer power? Can I cloud render in VRay from a mac?

The only reason I’m looking to build up my computer is because of rendering but if cloud rendering is the answer to my prayers I’d be very happy!

Tia, Lizzi

Hi @ehlsharp. If you decide to use V-Ray cloud services, you do not need a powerful machine (ie CPU). Read more about cloud rendering here..

I don’t know what your current Mac machine is or your current render speeds but speaking for myself, I do a lot of test renderings throughout the process and I too work with large/complex landscape models so a faster machine could help with building and managing your model as well. You could run the Benchmark test to see where you stand compared to others.

Also, keep in mind that V-Ray 5 includes Chaos Cosmos, their asset library, which includes many high-quality plants that are placed in your model as low-poly proxy meshes, which should help reduce the demand on your machine. See example where this winter tree contains only about 6k polygons and renders beautifully and fast:

Lastly, be sure to check out our course on V-Ray for SkechUp over at SketchUp Campus.

1 Like

I don’t know what to compare it to. Is there a list of some example setups?

Yes. Once you run the benchmark you should be able to see your score on a list (requires login to your Chaos account). Keep in mind you may want to filter the list to check against comparable setups. For example, the top on the list shows 256 cores. Um yeah that’s not my set up. Adding an iMac filter narrows it down significantly.

1 Like

Doh! All I had to do was hit the button at the bottom of the page.