Virtual Desktop Infrastructure

My company is upgrading the IT infrastructure so that all users work in a virtual infrastructure using RDS (Terminal Services) to better handle and manage multiple connected sites. We will be using Dell R730 servers, ATI FirePro S7150 graphics, VMWare vSphere 6.5 and Windows Server 2016.

I’ve read that the licensing doesn’t allow Sketchup to be used in virtualized environments. Are there any plans to allow Sketchup to function in a GPU enabled virtualized environment with users connecting via remote desktop connections?

Enabling Sketchup to work on our virtualized servers will be a fairly big requirement of ours.

I don’t know about licensing. I would guess that it won’t matter what you run SketchUp on provided it doesn’t consist a crack to the licensing system. I am no lawyer, though.

What has been said is that virtualized environments are not supported. That should only mean that there is no kind of guarantee that SU can be made to work in one. The same applies to most 3D software. I have test driven SketchUp on a different system (Nvidia and Citrix-based) than the one you are proposing to use and it, like all the other software I threw at it worked without a hitch (the SU version was 2015). The VM performed towards our network licensing schemes (Internet based for SU, license servers for others) identically to a standalone PC.

I have had some success with the latest AMD display drivers on a standalone PC, but I still wouldn’t try to implement anything AMD based without testing it thoroughly first. AMD has a long record of driver problems with SketchUp.

Anssi

Thanks Anssi. Appreciate your reply.

There’s an article by Sketchup about the hardware and software requirements.

Boot Camp, VMWare, and Parallels are not supported environments.

Virtualized Environments
At this time, SketchUp doesn’t support operation in a virtualized environments such as VMWare or Citrix.