Video Game Style Camera Control

Newbie here. I did search for this topic, but didn’t come up with anything.

I would like to change default keyboard shortcuts to enable PC gaming style camera control while designing, where A and D pans left and right, W moves forward, S moves back, and the mouse look controls the direction. Has anyone else done this? Does it sound feasible?

Interesting and it might be be possible with a plugin. Seems a shame to consume keyboard shortcuts for something you can already do with the center mouse wheel/button and Shift. Most of the navigation is one handed and when you stop navigating, you return to the tool you were using. If you were using the keys for navigation as you suggest, you’d have to do something to end the navigation such as hit Escape or select a new tool. compared to the current method of navigating through the mouse, the keyboard method seems like more work to me.

plugins have been written in the past, but all seem to die away when users realise the full extent of the compromise…

they only really make sense in a ‘Presentation’ mode…

I don’t know of any actively developed one and the links to a few I followed were broken…

look for ‘first person shooter navigation’ and you may find one, but they mostly used arrow keys as well, which are harder to override in v17…

john

First (since your a newb) … try out the walkthrough mode …

… go into Window > Preferences > Shortcuts,
and assign the W key to Camera > Walk

Then when you wish to navigate, hit the W key to actiavte the Walk camera tool.

Now in Walk:

LMB+Drag = spins left & right (slowly), and walks in & out (slowly)
CTRL+LMB+Drag = spins left & right (fast), and Runs in & out (fast)
SHIFT+LMB+Drag = drifts left, right, up and down (slowly)
ALT (in combo with others) = goes through objects (no collision)

MMSCROLL = Zooms in & out quickly (works all the time)

MMB = Looks around (camera pan & tilt quickly, this is normally Orbit)