Unfold/Flattery issues

Typically I wouldnt ask for help like this, but is there any way somebody can help me unfold an object and then send me the file? Im new to sketchup but im proficient with 2d autocad and i am struggling with this. I found a car model somebody did on the internet and im trying to extract the spoiler from that model. I want to unfold the model and then transfer that to autocad where i can scale it to fit my car. I can print it on large/multiple pages and transfer them to either cardboard or foam.Then I can make a foam plug and make a fiberglass mold. If somebody could help me out with this I would GREATLY appreciate it.

Rather than line up a particular volunteer in advance and then convey him the model, why not just post the model? I’m pretty sure you’ll get at least one flat spoiler pattern.

In general, if you post a clear question with a model, it’s a one-round dialog.

-Gully

What is the best way to post a model?

This is the model that i want the spoiler from

Oh, that should be sufficient.

-Gully

(Although, for your information, the horizontal bar with the up arrow on the edting toolbar is the upload command.)

I tried that and it said file too large. Thanks for your help Gully! I just need somebody’s help with this project. I have tried multiple ways of replicating this spoiler in the real world using clay and also trying to us foam blocks to carve the shape and it just isnt working. If I can make a cardboard template this way I think it will be a great starting point!

The unfold tool is more for flattening sheet metal for bending etc. Spoiler design is probably more like compound curves. I think you will have to plan on some type of lofting approach??
Save the file to a file sharing site like drop box and then share file and post url here or you can compress it ( zip) and maybe get under the forum limit :grinning: