Unable to solid subtract and maintain solid

Hey there.

I realized a model I made was a bit too tall on one portion. I want to remove the bottom 10mm from this model. (It’s scaled 10:1 because I’ve run into SketchUp having problems with small scales).

Unfortunately as I am still learning SketchUp I seem to have created some geometry issues. I believe that I have two circles (with 96 sides) which are rotated a bit so the sides do not properly align. It has caused no issues when printing and I still have a solid object but I am unable to subtract from the bottom without causing the object to no longer be a solid.

I have tried creating a cylinder of height 10, grouping it, and moving it down to the appropriate height, then solid subtracting. This leaves me with errors Solid Inspector cannot fix and none of my manual attempts to fix them have been successful. I’ve attached pictures for clarification.

Also attached is my project file. I’m not sure how to proceed here short of redoing the entire thing and being more careful about my geometry which I will in the future, but seems like overkill for such a small operation.

Signal_Light.skp (2.2 MB)

Am I right in assuming you want to reduce the height of the plain middle cylinder by 10mm?

Just window select round the bottom ‘fatter’ section, then Move up on blue 10mm (or scaled up, move 100mm).

Here’s the result of doing that:
Signal_Light shortened.skp (2.2 MB)

If you want to shorten the ‘fatter’ shaped section, then it’s less clear what you want to shorten.

Change the view to Camera/Parallel projection.

Change to Xray mode - View/Face Style/Xray.

Then window select round the geometry you want to move (I just selected round the bottom edges), and Move up on blue axis 10mm.

Like this:

Signal_Light bottom shortened.skp (2.2 MB)

Another way of doing it:
Draw a flat face at the height you want to reduce the bottom to - 10mm up from the base - in the context of editing the component.