Trying to design a land plot on terrain

I am pretty new to sketchup and trying to do a project. What I am trying to do is build a model for a plot of land like this below:

What I wan to do is take this and put this on top of a terrain like this below:

Im trying to paste the land plot image on top of the terrain so that the plot holds all the terrain info. Then I want to draw the model on top of the trace.

Been playing around and can import the image on top, but cant figure out how to project the image over the terrain properly.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

What version of SketchUp are you using? Your profile says SketchUp Free (web). Is that correct? If not, please correct your profile.The instructions for doing what you want depend on the version.

Sorry about that, Iv updated. Im using 2021 pro.

I looked around and found a vid that helped a bit. Basically import the image, put it on top of the terrain, explode it and use paintbucket to paint it to the terrain as a texture.

Issue with this is its painted all over the terrain and not just the middle part. I want to keep the original face/terrain and just put that image on top at a specific location. Is that possible to do?

Many thanks.

Thanks.

Not in SketchUp. You could redit the texture image from the terrain using your default image editor to include the overlayed Plat image. Assuming you’ve linked your default image editor in Preferences>Applications, you can right click on the terrain texture image in the Materials panel and choose Edit Texture Image. The image will open in the editor and you can make the changes. Then save the changes and go back to SketchUp.

FWIW, when you create the texture as you did, it necessarily has to repeat because it’s not as large as the surface you applied it to.

I made an example to show how to replace the terrain image with the plat but I guess that isn’t needed now.